~About Chuuk~

Where is Chuuk?

Chuuk is an island group approximately halfway between Hawaii and the Philippines. Chuuk is part of Micronesia, located in the vast expanse of the Central Pacific Ocean inhabiting thousands of islands, atolls and islets.


Polynesia is more widely known, with islands such as Samoa, Fiji and Tuvalu. Melanesia claims the larger islands such as New Guinea and

New Zealand. Micronesia is less known.


Micronesia is made up of 607 islands, covers 271 square miles, has a coastline of 3,798 miles, and is scattered over 1 million square miles of the Pacific Ocean!






Chuuk is one of the many island groups within Micronesia. Located seven degrees north of the equator, Chuuk is a beautiful, tropical group of volcanic islands within a large barrier reef. Inside the reef (or lagoon), there are seventeen inhabited islands.